DoD 8140 Training

Department of Defense Directive 8140 (Formerly DoD 8570)

DoD 8140 provides guidance and procedures for the training, certification, and management of all government employees who conduct Information Assurance functions in assigned duty positions. These individuals are required to carry an approved certification for their particular job classification. GIAC certifications are among those required for Technical, Management, CND, and IASAE classifications. ATG Learning offers DoD 8140 training (Formerly DoD 8570) courses that help you meet these requirements.

Who is affected by 8140?

Any full-time or part-time military service member, contractor, or local nationals with privileged access to a DoD information system performing information assurance (security) functions — regardless of job or occupational series.


100% of the IA professionals in DoD and DoD contractors must be certified within the next 3 years. All IA jobs will be categorized as "Technical" or "Management" Level I, II, or III, and to be qualified for those jobs, you must be certified.

Please fill out the form below to contact a training consultant directly or call 888-862-3784

Full Name






Enter the text in the image